The Customer is Always Right! Really?!

One of the most frequently used phrases that I hear when it comes to trade is “the customer is always right”. Sounds pretty fair but is it always applied?! Do we as customers get what we pay for? Do we get the service that we request?

I cannot say that “the customer is always right” makes companies do their job as dilligently as they are supposed to. At least not on the phone. For the last month or so I have twice been unpleasantly surprised when trying to talk to operators about a product that I have bought online and when trying to get information on how to re-enter my bank account online since I have forgotten my passcode.

To put it in a nutshell, I have lost two hours of my life waiting for somebody on the other line to respond while listening to dum melodies that are assumed to relax the nerves and being said that operators were busy serving another customer. Don’t get me wrong – I know that those operators are busy. They always talk on the phone, and they always have something to do on their computers.

Nevertheless, my patience is limited. I cannot wait 1/24 of the day on average for them to answer. During this one hour I could do other valuable things, couldn’t I? And that is if I am not busy. Imagine that I am so busy I cannot afford to wait even 10 minutes for an operator to pick up the phone, let alone an hour. What do we do now? It appears that a busy person risks not doing his or her tasks on time. Those tasks can be of great importance such as striking a deal worthy of a lot of money, getting on time on a date with the woman/man of his/her life, picking up the kids from school and whatever you can think of.

So if the customer is always right, then why should the customer wait for so long and feel like an idiot? I understand that companies’ employees probably try to realize where this call comes from because every such call poses a security threat. Let’s not forget that there are still frauds of this kind and any security system is extremely vulnerable to the most skilled one.

However, I doubt that people like me stay on the line for so long because of that. I’d rather say that it is most likely because of operators’ neglect and/or feeling of superiority. At the end of the day, they know that this call is important to you, and, because of that, you will wait for a long time so there are not enough reasons for them to bother answering the phone later.

Possible Solutions

I can see two possible solutions to this problem: companies hire more employees who could work as operators; companies do whatever they can to increase their employees’ efficiency by offering certain incentives. Unfortunately, itt appears to me that they do nothing to fix this inconvenience besides apologizing on a recording.

In my opinion, they have already realized throughout the years that customers outflow is too insignificant to be paid attention to. I can hardly imagine a great percentage of a company’s customers calling its operators about a problem that occurred with the product that they purchased; or calling in order to cancel a purchase. Besides, many customers are loyal to the company because of its products’ quality or rather because of its low prices.

2 Comments

Filed under Life

2 responses to “The Customer is Always Right! Really?!

  1. My experience is showing that playing with words is better choise against The Customers. If you attack them a little then they will turn back and after that good words are giving better strategy.
    Just my experience.

  2. Interesting! I have never thought of that. Playing with words could “break the ice” between the customer and the operator. But what if the customer is extremely angry? In this case, I see playing with words the worst possible strategy – all you do is make the customer angrier.

Leave a Reply

