Plagiarism is not what we think it is

 

Plagiarism is a much discussed topic nowadays. We hear this word almost every day but we rarely ponder what kinds of impact it has, positive and/or negative, because we have been taught that it’s a very bad thing – almost as bad as violating all of the 10 commandments several times in just a day.

Our high school and college professors always tell us that plagiarism shall not be tolerated in my class, and whoever plagiarizes will finish my course with an F grade. It sounds pretty fair – that policy has contributed to our evolution overall. Besides, would you want your work to be copied by someone else without them mentioning your contribution to it at all?! Of course not, that would be awful!

However, if your work is plagiarized with your name on it, there are not as many reasons to complain about it as in the previous situation. Music is a great example. Remember how many times you’ve gone to Youtube just to listen to your favorite song???!!! I can’t understand some of the singers and their staff who sue Youtube for having their song there for several hours or so.

If I want to listen to Madonna, for example, why should I always go to discos, listen to the radio, watch TV or buy her songs online??? What if I want to listen to a song of hers right here, right now? Who knows – maybe that listening to her song at this instant is going to inspire me to go to one of her concerts in the near future.

Ads on her CDs??? Listening to music on the Internet often makes fans buy albums where those specific songs are and/or attend concerts.

Ads on the Internet??? Hulu already have the answer to this issue, not to mention that it is with limited commercial interruption. In other words, they get pretty good money from ads, and at the same time let the netizens watch their favorites for free.

And still – there ain’t such thing as a free lunch!!! Those limited commercial interruptions somewhat remind you that you may want to buy something from Best Buy no matter whether or not you have planned to go there.

What about other servers where that work has been plagiarized? There won’t be ads there. No, but still – everybody sees, and knows, that it’s your work – so it gains popularity just as much as you do. Besides, let’s face it – once it’s published, there’s certain possibility that someone will try to spread it. Use that to your advantage instead of complaining about your copyrights! Business is not just calculus.

1 Comment

Filed under Life

One response to “Plagiarism is not what we think it is

  1. I personally use the http://www.copygator.com website to find plagiarized content. To me it has a number of benefits over copyscape and copyrightspot:

    1. it’s automated and brings me results instead of me searching for duplicated content. All i had to do was submit my feed and it started monitoring my feed showing me who’s republished my articles on the web.

    2. i get notified by email so it contacts me when it finds copies of my articles online.

    3. i use their image badge feature to alert me directly on my website when my content is being lifted.

    4. it’s a free service as opposed the “per page” cost of copyscape/copysentry.

Leave a Reply

